Yelena says: "I never painted before in my life and couldn't even imagine that I would start. The root of my creativity stems from a desire to live a long life free from unhappiness, awe before the awesome beauty of the natural world and the desire to include this beauty within my own life and say to others "I see it this way!" Significant role in my artistic development is playing close friendship with People Artist of Ukraine, Academic Mikhail Turovsky. "Inspiration is contagious - once inspired you are capable of anything."

Mikhail Turovsky: "Yelena's paintings belong to absolutely new genre... This genre is very much understood by the people who are absolutely new in the world of visual art. Yelena has the uncanny ability to see the unexpected side of the plain and the ordinary. One cannot arrive at this place with reason and logic. Her metaphoric thinking leads her to decisions that are so far from ordinary human associations that it amazes me beyond words, one who has seen everything within my long life of creativity.  That which Yelena is doing doesn't fit within the understanding of artistic movements and schools of thought. She does not belong to any movement. She is on her own. She gives birth to her art pieces somehow naturally, and they naturally communicate to us that which belongs only to her: her visions of things and happenings - her inner world.  This perspective finds a connection with the people who view Yelena's paintings. I think this is happening because the joy of being with which Yelena lives and works is being conveyed to people. Art is encountered differently by everyone and if your soul and mind become richer, life more fulfilled, and maybe more joyful. For Yelena Kimelblat, this encounter already happened."   

Website     Email



Tickets for June 7th.

Вера Павлова

at Pushkin Hall

Our partners

WE ARE 84! / НАМ 84!

Presidents of the Pushkin Society

1. Boris Brasol, founder    (1935 -1963)

2. Gregory Mesniaeff         (1963 -1967)

3. Semen Bogolubov         (1967 -1971)

4. Serge Woyciechowski   (1971 - 1973)

5. N. Baklanova-Bozhak   (1973 - 1995)   6. Catherine Lodyjensky   (1995 - 2009)

7. Victoria Kurchenko    (2009 - present)